Domestic Disasters

What's the Matter Aunty May?

What’s the Matter Aunty May? Little Hare, 2012. Book excerpts and illustrations courtesy of Andrew Joyner.

Australian illustrator and cartoonist Andrew Joyner’s latest book with author Peter Friend has that ring of familiarity: a helpful little boy breezily cutting a path of destruction through his horrified aunt’s home. What’s the Matter Aunty May? is a hugely enjoyable romp for young and old alike, packed with deliciously funny illustrations in the tradition of Leigh Hobbs and Roald Dahl.

What's the Matter Aunty May?

What's the Matter Aunty May?

What's the Matter Aunty May?

What's the Matter Aunty May?

What's the Matter Aunty May?

What's the Matter Aunty May?

Published by Little Hare, the book’s been shortlisted for the Prime Minister’s Literary Awards, to be announced later this year.

Though the innocently naughty protagonist will strike a chord with many parents, Andrew says he’s actually partly inspired by Jerry Lewis in The Ladies Man!

Sure to become a well-thumbed favourite in any youngster’s library.


One Response to “Domestic Disasters”

  1. Mamis y Bebés says:

    This is gorgeous! I love this illustrations. I live in Spain, so I have to find out if I could get this book here… maybe Amazon… It´s soooooooooo lovely!!!


Leave a Comment